Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Game Marketing Summit acquired by IDG

Game Marketing Summit acquired by IDG

Thu 27 Sep 2012 7:43pm GMT / 3:43pm EDT / 12:43pm PDT
EventsMarketing

PromaxBDA hands off event formerly known as MI6 to trade show producers behind E3, Macworld

The trade show company behind E3 and Macworld has added another event to its schedule. IDG World Expo today announced that it has acquired the Game Marketing Summit from PromaxBDA.

Previously known as MI6, the San Francisco-based Game Marketing Summit was founded as a way for marketing professionals in the field to meet, exchange ideas, and honor the best work of their peers with an awards show. Since its founding in 2006, the show has hosted industry luminaries including Atari founder Nolan Bushnell, Electronic Arts COO Peter Moore, Sony Computer Entertainment America VP of marketing Peter Dille, and SimCity creator Will Wright. This year's show, held in April, featured AOL "Digital Prophet" David Shing, Bethesda Softworks VP of Public Relations and Marketing Pete Hines, and the cast of Comedy Central's "Workaholics."

"There is no company more appropriate, capable and supportive of the global gaming industry than IDG World Expo and the entire community is excited to see them take this event to the next level," PromaxBDA CEO and president Jonathan Block-Verk said in a statement announcing the move.

IDG World Expo has assumed all responsibilities for the event itself, but PromaxBDA will continue to assist with the Games Marketing Summit's awards process. Dates for the next show have yet to be announced, but the one-day event will take place in San Francisco in the spring.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now