Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Riot Games hit by DDoS attacks

Riot Games hit by DDoS attacks

Wed 26 Sep 2012 7:37am GMT / 3:37am EDT / 12:37am PDT
OnlineDevelopment

League Of Legends developer "pursuing legal avenues"

League Of Legends developer Riot Games has revealed that the game has recently faced Distributed Denial of Service attacks.

"As some of you have recently experienced, a handful of players have been attacking our live service to kill games that are in-progress. They're doing this through a form of Distributed Denial of Service attack (DDoS) and not a hack," Bellissimoh, a producer with the company, posted on the official forums.

"We have taken steps to identify these attackers and remove them from our service permanently. Additionally we are pursuing legal avenues and working with the proper authorities," he continued.

"We're doing everything we can to implement short- and long-term solutions to fight these types of activities. When someone's intentionally ruining the experience of other players, we take it very seriously."

4 Comments

Bruce Everiss Marketing Consultant

1,692 594 0.4
Malicious people on the interwebs? Surely not.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Alfonso Sexto Lead Tester, Ubisoft Germany

819 652 0.8
Some people need girlfriends. What is the point in targeting a game company like Riot Games?

That people must be so sad...

Posted:2 years ago

#2

gi biz ;,pgc.eu

341 51 0.1
It was obviously a riot.

Ok... sorry... I just had to say that.... :p

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Alfonso Sexto Lead Tester, Ubisoft Germany

819 652 0.8

Posted:2 years ago

#4

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now