Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

GameSalad gets Windows 8 compatibility

GameSalad gets Windows 8 compatibility

Wed 26 Sep 2012 7:47am GMT / 3:47am EDT / 12:47am PDT
Developer Tools

Development tool adds the new OS to its list

GameSalad Creator, a development tool used by around 400,000 developers since 2009, has added Windows 8 to its list of compatible platforms.

"Microsoft is thrilled GameSalad will be bringing its popular GameSalad Creator product to Windows 8 and welcomes its passionate community of more than 400,000 developers," said Microsoft's John Richards.

"By making it easy to create and publish games to the Windows Store, GameSalad developers now have access to a powerful distribution channel with unprecedented global reach across more than 200 markets."

GameSalad Creator has been used to make over 100,000 games, including Zombie Drop, The Secret Of Grisly Manor and Space Panda.

"By supporting Windows 8, GameSalad developers now have the opportunity to reach all new Windows 8 users, regardless of form factor," added GameSalad CEO Steve Felter.

"We are excited to help our developer community take full advantage of the tremendous opportunities the Windows 8 ecosystem presents."

Windows 8 is due for release on October 26.

1 Comment

Murray Lorden
Game Designer & Developer

199 72 0.4
That's good news. I use Game Salad, and it'll be nice to be able to bring games to Windows 8 phones, when not so many others will be on that market in the early days.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now