Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Foxconn riots to have no impact on supply chain

Foxconn riots to have no impact on supply chain

Tue 25 Sep 2012 3:58pm GMT / 11:58am EDT / 8:58am PDT
Technology

With 2,000-worker disturbance quelled, electronics manufacturer says production has resumed

One of Foxconn's largest factories in China is up and running again after a 2,000-worker riot forced a production stoppage on Monday. A representative with the company told Reuters today that the electronics manufacturer's Taiyuan plant has resumed production, and that the one-day closure is not expected to have any impact on the company's supply chain to clients.

"We have 79,000 people working in Taiyuan campus, and we always have spare inventory," the representative told the news service.

The BBC reported that 40 people were hurt during the disturbance.

This is not the first time Foxconn has had trouble with angry employees. Another of its plants saw rioting in June, with that incident reported to involve 1,000 workers.

The company, which employs over 1.1 million people in China and works for electronics giants such as Apple, Nintendo and Microsoft, has been under increasing pressure to improve worker conditions in the region following employee threats of mass suicides and allegations of poor working conditions.

1 Comment

Andrew Goodchild Studying development, Train2Game

1,254 421 0.3
Well, why would we worry about worker conditions, as long as there is no impact on supply chain?

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now