Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Unity: No current plans to support Nintendo 3DS

Unity: No current plans to support Nintendo 3DS

Mon 24 Sep 2012 8:01am GMT / 4:01am EDT / 1:01am PDT
Developer ToolsHardware

Wii U license deal doesn't mean Unity for handheld anytime soon

Unity Technologies developer relations officer Tracy Erickson has revealed the company is not currently looking to support the Nintendo handheld.

"Regarding Nintendo 3DS, that's kinda like asking about Pikmin 4 when Pikmin 3 hasn't even come out yet," she told NintendoLife.

"The relationship between Nintendo and Unity has reached an exciting new level and we're focused on Wii U. Timing is important here since the console launches in this year, too. While there are no current plans to support Nintendo 3DS, we're always looking at what platforms make sense for us to support, where developer demand is, and the opportunities available for our developer community."

Earlier this month Unity signed a major license deal with Nintendo to distribute the Unity engine to its network of studios, internal and external.

"The response has been phenomenal. Unity developers see the opportunity on Wii U; they want to innovate, they want to push the hardware, they want to try new things," added Erickson.

"Many of these developers haven't worked with a console before or perhaps haven't interacted with Nintendo. Naturally, there's a desire to see how Nintendo moves forward in distributing Unity via the Wii U SDK - pricing, availability, options for publishing - these are important questions that will be answered in the coming months."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now