Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Layoffs at Sony PR

Layoffs at Sony PR

Thu 20 Sep 2012 3:33pm GMT / 11:33am EDT / 8:33am PDT
Business

SCEA consolidating all public relations efforts to operate out of Foster City headquarters

A shuffling of the deck at Sony Computer Entertainment America has left a number of its public relations staffers out of work.

A Sony spokesperson confirmed a PR "departmental reorganization" to GamesIndustry International today. According to the representative, "all SCEA public relations efforts will now be run solely out of Foster City headquarters. This has no impact on [Sony Computer Entertainment Worldwide Studios], San Diego Studio which will continue to operate its normal course of business."

These are far from the first layoffs from Sony this year. The company shuttered SOCOM developer Zipper Interactive in March, and in April Sony announced that it would be cutting 10,000 positions, or about 6 percent of its global workforce. More recently, Sony closed Studio Liverpool, the Wipeout franchise developer previously known as Psygnosis.

2 Comments

James Prendergast
Research Chemist

735 432 0.6
Well this was a long time coming.... Now we just need to wait on the EA PR people to be fired and that's a big chunk of negative PR we won't have to read/listen to in the next year.

... Assuming that the remaining/new PR people aren't exactly the same....


Oh, god!

Posted:2 years ago

#1
Its a good time to do a raincheck if Sony PR did a good job of advertising/marketing the various products across the various platforms...

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now