Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Idle Games cuts 25 employees

Idle Games cuts 25 employees

Thu 20 Sep 2012 7:36am GMT / 3:36am EDT / 12:36am PDT
Development

Idle Worship devs laid off as user numbers fall

Facebook game developer Idle Games has cut 25 employees from the team for its Idle Worship title.

CEO Jeffy Hyman confirmed the news to InsideSocialGames, and reported that the company still had around 40 employees.

Its Facebook game Idle Worship had 30,000 daily active users at launch, five weeks later that has fallen to 10,000. Hyman revealed it saw an average revenue per daily user of $0.12 to $0.13.

"You either needed medication because you loved it so much or you just didn't play it. There was no happy medium."

The company also has its casino title Fresh Deck Poker, and was recently nominated for a GDC Online Award.

"There's a good life lesson there that you don't need to innovate on every single vector," he added. "In order to be successful you don't want the press, reviews and accolades. You want bucket loads of money."

Idle Games is based in San Francisco and was founded in 2009. Last year it received $10 million in series B funding.

1 Comment

Paul Gheran Scrum Master

123 27 0.2
"Too different" and "Not different enough" are the condensed versions of the peer reviews I heard/read on this one.

How unhelpful those types of reviews are. Good luck to all those affected.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now