Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

GDC Online moving, renamed GDC Next

GDC Online moving, renamed GDC Next

Mon 17 Sep 2012 3:18pm GMT / 11:18am EDT / 8:18am PDT
MobileEvents

Austin-based mobile/social/MMO show relocating to LA for 2013

Next month's Game Developers Conference Online in Austin will be the last. The event's organizer, UBM TechWeb, has announced that a new show, GDC Next, will debut in Los Angeles next year and serve as a successor to GDC Online.

GDC Next will cover the same assortment of topics as GDC Online, with a focus on "what's next in smartphone & tablet, social, persistent, independent, and other major forms of games." The first GDC Next will be held at the Los Angeles Convention Center November 5-7, 2013, and will share space with the App Developers Conference.

GDC Online (and the Austin Game Conference before it) has been held in the Texas capital for each of the last 10 years. Austin has a reputation as a hub of MMO development, playing host to a number of big-name operations including Electronic Arts' Origin Systems (Ultima Online), Sony Online Entertainment (Star Wars: Galaxies), NCsoft (Tabula Rasa), and BioWare (Star Wars: The Old Republic).

Correction: The original story stated that the App Developers Conference was organized by Engage Digital. It is actually a new event from UBM TechWeb, and unrelated to Engage Digital's App Conference, which is being held in Santa Clara, California.

1 Comment

Andrew Wafer CEO, Pixel Toys

21 17 0.8
I will miss Austin. Great place to visit and a nice change from downtown LA. Especially in October/November!

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now