Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Ubisoft founds new, state of the art Toronto capture studio

Ubisoft founds new, state of the art Toronto capture studio

Thu 13 Sep 2012 2:00pm GMT / 10:00am EDT / 7:00am PDT
TechnologyPublishing

publisher looking to create "more filmic, actor-driven games"

Ubisoft has founded a brand-new, state of the art motion capture studio in Toronto, expanding its presence in the city after two years of operating a development studio there.

The new facility will engage with Ubisoft's strong transmedia ethos to utilise technology from cinematic filming to create new levels of performer realism in its games.

"We are extremely proud to unveil a performance capture studio in Toronto after just two years of operation in the city," said Ubisoft Toronto CEO Yannis Mallat.

"This is about more than just the creation of a cutting-edge facility - it's about Ubisoft transforming our approach to storytelling with a focus on acting talent and the delivery of the highest-quality performance output for our cinematics and animation teams. The studio also is a testament to our confidence in the talent in Ontario to deliver some of the best performance capture in the industry for games."

Whilst the studio will be assisting closely with locally produced projects such as the forthcoming Splinter Cell: Blacklist, capture will also be performed there for other games being made across the globe.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now