Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

New Super Mario Bros 2 & Darksiders 2 duel for NPD top spot

New Super Mario Bros 2 & Darksiders 2 duel for NPD top spot

Fri 07 Sep 2012 4:54am GMT / 12:54am EDT / 9:54pm PDT

One is a winner depending on if you're single SKU or not

Nintendo is touting New Super Mario Bros 2 is the best-selling video game of August. According to NPD numbers, the cross-platform THQ's Darksiders 2 is the number one, but Nintendo insists that New Super Mario Bros 2 is the winner when you count only single SKUs. It's an important start for Nintendo as Super Mario Bros 2's release also marked the launch of the new Nintendo 3DS XL hardware.

Nintendo 3DS hardware sales increased more than 36 percent over sales in July, while software sales increased more than 68 percent.

"Software sells hardware, and no one sells either quite like Mario," said Scott Moffitt, Nintendo of America's executive vice president of Sales & Marketing. "In addition to helping New Super Mario Bros. 2 get off to a great start, Nintendo 3DS XL is driving increased interest in titles such as Kid Icarus: Uprising, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D and Mario Kart 7. Combine these titles with the upcoming Paper Mario: Sticker Star and a robust list of third-party games, and Nintendo 3DS is poised to be high on holiday wish lists this year."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now