Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Raspberry Pi begins UK production at Sony facility

Raspberry Pi begins UK production at Sony facility

Thu 06 Sep 2012 1:46pm GMT / 9:46am EDT / 6:46am PDT
Hardware

South Wales plant now turning out innovative hardware

The Raspberry Pi is now being produced in the UK, at an electronics plant in South Wales, after a deal was struck which enables the foundation behind the device to maintain its low price point.

The machine will now be fabricated at Sony's UK manufacturing plant in Pencoed, passing all of Sony's stringent ethical sourcing and construction standards. 30,000 Raspberry Pis will be produced at the plant a month under an initial contract, with some others still being made abroad.

Previously, UK tax laws on electronic components had prevented local manufacturing, but six months of negotiations have cleared the way for a domestic contract which will create at least 30 jobs.

2 Comments

Kingman Cheng
Illustrator and Animator

954 182 0.2
Fantastic news! Great to have any sort of production over here in times like this!

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Adam Tuckwell
Public Relations Manager

4 0 0.0
Excellent news!

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now