Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Mojang partners with UN Habitat

Mojang partners with UN Habitat

Thu 06 Sep 2012 8:17am GMT / 4:17am EDT / 1:17am PDT
Charity

Block By Block game will help change urban areas

Mojang is working with the UN, providing a Minecraft like application that allows users to participate in urban planning projects in their area.

"Block By Block aims to involve youth in the planning process in urban areas by giving them the opportunity to show planners and decision makers how they would like to see their cities in the future," said Mojang, who is the main financial sponsor for the game.

"Minecraft has turned out to be the perfect tool to facilitate this process."

It's a three year partnership with the UN, starting with Kibera in Nairobi, and in that time hopes to help the UN-Habitat's Sustainable Urban Development Network improve 300 public spaces by 2016.

Mojang has already had somne success with a similar programme for the Swedish Building Services, allowing locals to suggest changes to their own towns.

2 Comments

Frederic Eichinger
Web Developer

33 27 0.8
Raises the question as to whether this could be expanded on - mechanically. As in: Creating an easy-to-use tool for this job, that allows for cleaner, yet more creative design than the blocky Minecraft environment.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Henry Durrant
Programmer

50 43 0.9
Im not sure skyscrapers made out of diamonds, zombie defenses, or digging holes to the centre of the earth are viable city-planning opportunuties :)

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now