Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

World of Warcraft free-to-play not moving past level 20

World of Warcraft free-to-play not moving past level 20

Thu 23 Aug 2012 8:34pm GMT / 4:34pm EDT / 1:34pm PDT
OnlineFree-to-Play

Blizzard has no plans to update the free-to-play cap with further expansions

Blizzard Entertainment has told CVG that it will not be raising the free-to-play cap of level 20 for World of Warcraft. The game has seen a decline in subscribers down to around 9 million currently. Despite this, lead game producer John Lagrave said that the free-to-play is staying where it currently is.

"We looked at whether Level 20 would give you a good sense of what our game is, and we think it does. We've definitely slid some of the pay-for features into the first 20 Levels," said Lagrave when asked about raising the free-to-play cap.

"But there's also a lot of things in the game that are special that we want to reserve for our paying customers."

The company is releasing its new Mists of Pandaria expansion on September 15, 2012.

2 Comments

JT QA, Rockstar Lincoln

26 17 0.7
Why would they change it, they still have 9 million paid subs. Wait until they drop a further few million to around 5 or less. I'm sure they will reconsider then.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Nicholas Pantazis Senior Editor, VGChartz Ltd

1,020 1,467 1.4
Exactly Jay. They'll probably go true F2P someday... but we're many millions of lost subscribers away from that moment. That said, with Guild Wars 2 about to drop they may find they lose those subscribers faster than they'd like.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now