Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Retailer Best Buy sees 3% YoY revenue fall

Retailer Best Buy sees 3% YoY revenue fall

Tue 21 Aug 2012 1:35pm GMT / 9:35am EDT / 6:35am PDT
RetailFinancial

Latest financial results show drops in revenue and gross profit compared to last year

Best Buy

With operations in the United States, Canada, Europe, China and Mexico, Best Buy is a multinational retailer...

bestbuy.com

American retail chain Best Buy has seen both revenue and gross profit fall, and has reduced its annual earnings expectations.

Total revenue for the quarter ended August 4 stood at $10.55 billion, down 3 per cent on the same period last year. Gross profit was $2.56 billion, down 7 per cent on last year's $2.76 billion.

"Due to lowered expectations for industry wide sales and the uncertainty associated with several key product launches expected in the second half of fiscal 2013, the company has reduced its annual earnings expectations."

It noted that there had been a decline in sales for gaming, digital imaging, televisions and notebooks.

"The domestic segment comparable store sales decline of 1.6 percent was driven by declines in gaming within the Entertainment revenue category, digital imaging and televisions within the Consumer Electronics revenue category and notebooks within the Computing and Mobile Phones revenue category."

Entertainment made up just 8 per cent of revenue, down 2 per cent on the same period last year.

The company recently announced the appointment of new CEO Hubert Joly.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now