Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Bigpoint launching F2P titles on Amazon

Thu 16 Aug 2012 11:05am GMT / 7:05am EDT / 4:05am PDT
Publishing

"I believe they are very serious about gaming" says head of business development

Amazon

Amazon.com strives to be Earth's most customer-centric company where people can find and discover virtually...

amazon.com

Bigpoint

Bigpoint: Where online gamers go!

Bigpoint.com is the largest German gaming portal and one of the...

bigpoint.net

Bigpoint is launching two of its free-to-play titles, Battlestar Galactica Online and Drakensang Online, on Amazon's Game Connect platform.

"We are helping Amazon build its content on Game Connect," said head of business development Ed Kim, told GamesBeat.

"They are a very large distribution channel and can target users quite well thanks to their e-commerce site."

Game Connect directly links an Amazon user's account, and therefore their credit card, to their free-to-play gaming. It means security for the gamer, and less friction to make those all important microtransactions easier.

"I believe they are very serious about gaming, they are showing a lot of commitment."

According to Kim, Bigpoint is also planning to host its titles on Steam.

"Our goal is to have our games anywhere there is a browser."

Just last month Bigpoint closed its mobile development business, with CEO Heiko Hubertz explaining "to generate revenues in this market is very tough."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now