Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Pitfall creator: Zynga gives the casual market a bad name

Pitfall creator: Zynga gives the casual market a bad name

Mon 13 Aug 2012 7:26am GMT / 3:26am EDT / 12:26am PDT
People

Activision co-founder David Crane says there's a difference between social and casual

David Crane, one of Activision's founders and the man who created Pitfall, has taken a swipe at social gaming giant Zynga in a recent interview.

"If you ask someone what they thought a casual game was a few years ago, they might have said something like Angry Birds. Now they'll probably say something like Farmville," he told Game Informer.

"I don't like to lump those social games in with casual games. I think it's those Zynga-like games that give the 'casual' market a bad name."

Crane is currently promoting a Kickstarter campaign for a new Jungle Adventure title with developers from Atari, Activision, Nickelodeon, AddictingGames and Disney. He's asking for $900,000 and currently has 211 backers.

"I think it's hilarious because there must have been some kind of miracle, because ten years ago everyone was playing these kinds of games and now everyone forgot they existed just because they're on phones now," he added.

"I kind of feel like I've always made casual games. I make games for people who like to have fun and enjoy games on any level. Games are about diversion; that's very casual."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now