Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Tegra sales boost Nvidia profits to $119 million

Tegra sales boost Nvidia profits to $119 million

Fri 10 Aug 2012 7:37am GMT / 3:37am EDT / 12:37am PDT
Hardware

Nvidia rides growth of tablets, puts company "at the centre of the fastest growing segments of computing"

GPU manufacturer Nvidia has reported profits of $119 million for the second quarter, boosted by record sales of the Tegra processor. Revenue for the quarter hit $1.04 billion.

During the second quarter Nvidia inked Tegra deals with Microsoft for its forthcoming Surface tablets and with Google for the budget-priced Nexus 7.

"Our investments in mobile computing and visual computing are both paying off," said Jen-Hsun Huang, president and chief executive officer of NVIDIA.

"Tegra has achieved record sales as tablets come into their own. Our GPU business made strong gains in a weak market, boosted by our breakthrough Kepler architecture. Looking ahead, we're optimistic, as our investments position us right at the centre of the fastest growing segments of computing."

The business expects sales of between $1.15 billion and $1.25 billion in the third quarter.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now