Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Kinect 2 image leaked - report

Kinect 2 image leaked - report

Fri 10 Aug 2012 10:04am GMT / 6:04am EDT / 3:04am PDT
HardwareDevelopment

Source behind the recent Durango dev kit leak publishes image showing improved Kinect technology

The source of the recent Xbox Durango dev kit leak has released another image illustrating the refined Kinect technology's capabilities.

The anonymous source, known as "DaE", published the image on Twitter. It shows the Kinect detecting the outline of two users' clothing to a relatively high degree of detail, and is tracking one users' hand and fingers even as it passes in front of his body.

DaE leaked images of the Xbox Durango dev kit in July, when he attempted to sell it on a developer forum in what he later claimed was a joke.

Initially, it was thought to be a hoax, but Digital Foundry's Richard Leadbetter located DaE and subsequently confirmed that the images were, "the real deal."

3 Comments

Petter Solberg
Freelance Writer & Artist

60 39 0.7
Kinect 2 can tell whether you're smiling or not. Get a facelift and your avatar will smile all day. Even if you're all torn apart inside.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Stephen Woollard
Online Infrastructure Specialist

146 71 0.5
I just hope the Kinect 2 is a) backwards compatible and b) able to reduce the play space - I get tired of having to drag the sofa out of the way whenever my boy wants to play Kinectimals or Puss in Boots :-)

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Greg Wilcox
Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,148 1,061 0.5
Hmmm. Makes me wonder how the worse Kinect games will play on a better add-on....

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now