Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

HMV boss: Won't bet my house on chain seeing 2021

HMV boss: Won't bet my house on chain seeing 2021

Fri 10 Aug 2012 9:52am GMT / 5:52am EDT / 2:52am PDT
Retail

But departing CEO Simon Fox says retailer has "wind at its back again"

Simon Fox, the soon to depart CEO of retailer HMV, has told a national newspaper he's not expecting the chain to be around in ten years' time.

Asked by the Telegraph if HMV would celebrate its centenary in 2021, his answer was clear.

"That's a big bet. I'm not betting my house on that... I don't think my wife would be happy."

"The last year has been a difficult and challenging one," he admitted, although went on to say later that "we were sailing into hurricane winds but we have got to a position where the sea is calm and we have the wind at our back again."

The interview also revealed the company was expecting a 10 million profit from the current year, and that suppliers like Universal and Disney had been key to that, offering lower prices in return for a stake in the company.

Fox announced his departure from the company last week. He will be replaced by former Jessops chief executive Trevor Moore.

1 Comment

James Verity

132 25 0.2

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now