Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

CCP raises $20m for DUST 514 promotion

By Matthew Handrahan

CCP raises $20m for DUST 514 promotion

Fri 10 Aug 2012 7:31am GMT / 3:31am EDT / 12:31am PDT

EVE Online studio understands the need to stand out in the busy end-of-year release schedule

CCP Games has raised $20 million in new funding to help promote its ambitious online shooter, DUST 514.

According to Techcrunch, who spoke to the company's CFO Joe Gallo, the money was raised through convertible bonds from institutional investors in its native country, Iceland.

DUST, a free-to-play FPS for PlayStation 3, is scheduled for release this year, and CCP understands the need to remain competitive against the other major FPS releases - Halo 4 and Call of Duty, among many others.

However, CMO David Reid doesn't believe that DUST should go, "head-to-head with EA and Activision," and the game's persistent online nature allows CCP to take a more measured approach to promotion.

Reid also suggested that, if successful, DUST would allow the company to, "do some of the things you need to do for IPO preparedness."

From Recommendations by Taboola


Terence Gage Freelance writer

1,289 126 0.1
"DUST, a free-to-play FPS for PC and PlayStation 3"

Um, I'm fairly certain it's only on the PS3...?!

Posted:3 years ago


Sebastian Moss Editor -in- Chief, PlayStation LifeStyle

57 19 0.3
That's gotta be more than Sony's entire holiday marketing budget for the PS3...

Posted:3 years ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now