Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

BigWorld CEO quits following Wargaming acquisition

BigWorld CEO quits following Wargaming acquisition

Thu 09 Aug 2012 12:22pm GMT / 8:22am EDT / 5:22am PDT
Online

John De Margheriti leaves as middleware firm expands

The CEO of middleware company BigWorld has stepped down days after the business was acquired by Russian developer and publisher Wargaming.net.

John De Margheriti leaves the company he co-founded this week after 27 years, but will remain as a consultant for the new owners of the MMO middleware technology. Wargaming.net paid $45 million for the business.

"I believe that BigWorld is a great fit for Wargaming, and the acquisition is a very smart move by this growing global giant," offered De Margheriti.

"They now have secured the best online games platform on the market, something that has taken my team and I over twelve years to develop. It will give Wargaming an unprecedented opportunity to provide their hard core audience an even more amazing experience. The acquisition will mean more jobs at BigWorld, who are already planning to move to larger offices."

Taking his place as CEO is Steve Wang, while Simon Hayes will remain as chief technical officer.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now