Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Minecraft XBLA selling 17,000 copies per day

Minecraft XBLA selling 17,000 copies per day

Wed 08 Aug 2012 3:13pm GMT / 11:13am EDT / 8:13am PDT
OnlineDevelopment

Speedy sales mean Mojang could double profits this year

Mojang is on track to double last years' profits, and has revealed the Xbox 360 version of Minecraft is selling over 17,000 copies a day.

Last year Mojang achieved revenues of 52 million and profits of 5.5 million, but that took into account 40 million in revenue that went to Markus Persson's company Notch Development. This year that amount will be lower.

"Since Mojang keeps more of the earnings from the new Minecraft versions, our turnover increases a lot this year," Mojang MD Carl Manneh told it24.

"Our profits will more than double. Markus' company will also make more money, though perhaps not as high a percentage as Mojang."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now