Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kim Dotcom accuses NZ police of brutality during arrest

Kim Dotcom accuses NZ police of brutality during arrest

Tue 07 Aug 2012 8:57am GMT / 4:57am EDT / 1:57am PDT
PeopleLegal

Megaupload founder says he was punched and kicked by officers

Megaupload founder Kim Dotcom, currently in the process of undergoing trial for extradition to the US in New Zealand, has accused local police of using unnecessary force during his arrest.

Speaking on Tuedsay, Dotcom says he was terrified during the operation which saw local police raid his home on piracy, money laundering and fraud charges.

"They were all over me," he told the court. "I had a punch to the face, boots kicking me down to the floor. I was screaming and I was in pain ... I told them there was no need for punching me or hurting me and please stop."

Belongings and assets seized in the raid are currently still in police custody, but their seizure has been deemed illegal by the court, which is currently in session to decide whether they should be returned. Dotcom's extradition charges have yet to be decided.

1 Comment

Paul Johnson Managing Director / Lead code monkey, Rubicon Development

961 1,759 1.8
As someone trying to make a living from Android development, I'm totally okay with the punching and kicking.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now