Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

THQ kills Guillermo del Toro's InSane

THQ kills Guillermo del Toro's InSane

Mon 06 Aug 2012 9:55pm GMT / 5:55pm EDT / 2:55pm PDT
Business

Publisher hands back IP rights to movie director

Speaking at today's investor's call, THQ president Jason Rubin has announced that pre-production on Guillermo del Toro's InSane has ceased. The title was being developed by Volition with a planned 2013 release.

"We have decided not to pursue further pre-production on Insane, and have returned all of our IP rights to Guillermo del Toro," said Rubin. "By canceling these explorations outside of our core business, we feel we can improve focus on our core game portfolio, which remains unchanged."

Danny Bilson, who left the company back in May and was instrumental in brokering the deal with del Toro, tweeted that the game was not cancelled weeks before his departure. It seems incoming president Rubin was of a different mindset.

In addition to InSane's cancellation, THQ has stated it will not be developing casual social or mobile titles.

"We have also stopped development for certain areas that are not productive for our new strategy. Consistent with this vision, THQ has made a few changes to previously announced projects. First, we made the determination not to pursue any casual Facebook games," said Rubin.

It's an interesting move for THQ, especially at a time when every other publisher is betting on mobile.

1 Comment

Ben Strauss
Consultant

10 1 0.1
Unfortunate.....that could have been a fantastic game. Hope to see some other pub pick this up.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now