Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Facebook claims 230m users played games last month

Facebook claims 230m users played games last month

Mon 06 Aug 2012 8:34am GMT / 4:34am EDT / 1:34am PDT
Online

Social network dismisses the idea that one publisher dominates the market

More than 230 million Facebook users played a game in the last 30 days - around 25 per cent of the social network's entire user-base.

The information was released by Doug Purdy, Facebook's director of developer products, who also addressed the widely held belief that the platform is entirely dominated by "one publisher", presumably Zynga.

"We're seeing the rise of new publishers like Kixeye and King.com, who are building really awesome games and making a lot of money doing that," he said in a video posted on TechCrunch.

"We're really happy with the diversity we're seeing. We have over 130 apps on Facebook that have more than a million monthly users, which is phenomenal. It isn't just one publisher dominating this space; there's a plethora of [publishers] being successful."

Purdy also revealed that Facebook has directed users to the App Store and Google Play more than 150 million times in the last 30 days.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now