Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

SOE says SWTOR going free was the "right decision"

SOE says SWTOR going free was the "right decision"

Fri 03 Aug 2012 8:20pm GMT / 4:20pm EDT / 1:20pm PDT
BusinessOnline

SWTOR going free was the "only way to go", says SOE's Smedley

In a Reddit Ask Me Anything event, Sony Online Entertainment (SOE) president John Smedley said that Electronic Arts and BioWare were making the "right decision" by taking Star Wars: The Old Republic free-to-play. Smedley has dealt with the Star Wars brand in the past, as SOE once ran Star Wars Galaxies, the first MMO based on the brand.

"It is the only way to go for new games. It was the right decision for SWTOR (which is a fantastic game). Wait till you see our next round of games after [Planetside 2]," said Smedley when asked about SWTOR free-to-play shift.

Smedley also had some choice words for those talking about the decline of the PC industry.

"I hate it when people talk about the decline of the PC industry. It's idiotic garbage spouted by morons that can't count where the players are playing. It's not like League of Legends reports numbers to NPD. The players are playing F2P games on the PC not going to retail," he said.

The full AMA thread can be found here. Planetside 2's beta event begins next Monday, August 6, 2012.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now