Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

SOCOM "not done" according to Shuhei Yoshida

SOCOM "not done" according to Shuhei Yoshida

Wed 01 Aug 2012 11:32pm GMT / 7:32pm EDT / 4:32pm PDT
Business

"We never retire any franchise," says the Sony WWS head

SOCOM is not a dead franchise, at least according to Shuhei Yoshida. The Sony Worldwide Studios president said "never say never" when it comes to the future of the SOCOM franchise.

Talking to the Official PlayStation Magazine and posted by their UK counterparts, Yoshida was asked right out if SOCOM was "done as a franchise" as many assumed. Yoshida responded by saying, "It's not done. We never retire any franchise."

Yoshida pointed out the new Sly Cooper game coming several years after the series appeared over with and said, "it's sometimes good to have a fresh look at the franchises we have."

Zipper Interactive, the traditional stewards of the SOCOM brand, suffered layoffs soon after the release of SOCOM 4. The studio was later closed following the release of the PS Vita title Unit 13, something Yoshida characterized as "a very difficult decision and thing to deal with."

1 Comment

Terence Gage
Freelance writer

1,288 120 0.1
"We never retire any franchise"

That's great news! Now can we please have:

Demon's Souls 2
MAG 2
Dark Cloud 3
Heavenly Sword 2
Eight Days
Alundra sequel (not sure who actually owns this IP, but I know the first game was published in Europe by Psygnosis)
Dead Nation 2
Medievil sequel
Legend of Dragoon 2

Anyway, on a more topical note, I thought it was a shame that Zipper was closed down by Sony. They made some good quality software which wasn't as successful as it deserved to be, but at the same time I think Sony did a poor job of marketing MAG, Socom: SF and Unit 13.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now