Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Facebook App Center now available worldwide

Facebook App Center now available worldwide

Wed 01 Aug 2012 12:18pm GMT / 8:18am EDT / 5:18am PDT
Publishing

System for aiding discovery now available to Facebook's entire global audience

Facebook's App Center online store is now available to every country in the social network's considerable reach.

The App Center was launched around the time of the company's IPO, in an effort to help web and mobile users discover apps more easily.

Initially, the App Center was only available in the US, followed by Australia, Canada, the UK, Ireland, India, New Zealand and South Africa. Last week, it was rolled out to Brazil, France, Germany, Russia, Spain, Taiwan, and Turkey, but TechCrunch reports that the process is now complete.

This week, Facebook reported that 81 per cent of its MAUs live outside of North America, though that huge group of people only represented 50 per cent of the company's total revenue last quarter. The global launch of App Center is a clear attempt to better monetise Facebook's entire audience, helping developers make money in the process.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now