Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

SEGA 1st and 3rd on UK podium with official Olympics tie-ins

SEGA 1st and 3rd on UK podium with official Olympics tie-ins

Mon 30 Jul 2012 9:31am GMT / 5:31am EDT / 2:31am PDT

LEGO Batman 2 pushed into second by sporting fever

SEGA has taken gold and bronze positions on this week's UK all-format chart, bracketing the second-placed LEGO Batman with Olympic titles as the Games kick off in London.

Neither game is a new release but the opening of London 2012, which kicked off with Danny Boyle's well-received opening ceremony on Friday night, has revitalised the five week old official Games title as well as the Sonic and Mario vehicle which has been cruising the chart for nearly ten months. Batman received a similar boost from surrounding hype as three Caped Crusader titles occupy top 40 spots as Christopher Nolan's film continues to draw crowds.

Elsewhere on the table positions have largely been reshuffled, with the only new entry being Pokemon Conquest at number 17 - also the only DS title to make the top 40 despite Sunday's launch of the 3DS XL.

All chart data is courtesy of Gfk Chart-Track.

Last Week This Week Title
2 1 London 2012: The Official Video Game
1 2 LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes
8 3 Mario & Sonic London 2012 Olympic Games
3 4 Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier
7 5 Batman: Arkham City
5 6 Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare 3
4 7 The Amazing Spider-Man
10 8 The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
12 9 FIFA 12
6 10 Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance
4 11 Assassin's Creed: Revelations
9 12 Max Payne 3
24 13 Mario Kart 7
13 14 Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure
11 15 Dead Island: GOTY Edition
23 16 Battlefield 3FIFA Street
New Entry 17 Pokemon Conquest
17 18 Call of Duty: Black Ops
27 19 WWE '12
28 20 Super Mario 3d Land

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now