Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Warner Bros Seattle studio hit with layoffs - report

Warner Bros Seattle studio hit with layoffs - report

Thu 26 Jul 2012 6:48pm GMT / 2:48pm EDT / 11:48am PDT
Business

Unknown number of layoffs hit several studios in Seattle area

WB Games Seattle, which is composed of Monolith Productions, Snowblind Studios and Surreal Software have been hit with an unknown number of layoffs today. A source close to the studio confirmed to Joystiq that the Seattle team has been affected. Nothing concrete has been announced as of yet, though earlier layoffs saw around 60 people lose their jobs.

Warner Bros has yet to comment on the matter officially following a rather bleak Twitter post from 3D Realms founder George Broussard commented that "Another Warner Brothers layoff going on as we speak. In progress now. Shame. Hope people land safely."

WB Games Seattle is currently working on Lord of the Rings: Guardians of Middle-earth. How that project is holding up at this point remains to be seen.

GamesIndustry International has reached out to Warner Bros for word on the matter, and will update as soon as possible.

1 Comment

Terence Gage
Freelance writer

1,288 120 0.1
I thought Surreal Software had been stealthily closed about a year ago?

Anyway, I think Warner have the potential to be a great video games publisher, but they lean too heavily on licences. I'd like to see, for instance, Monolith and Traveller's Tales cut loose and allowed the opportunity to work on new IPs (Monolith always do their best work on a new IP and I think Haven: Call of the King was hugely underrated last gen).

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now