Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

AMD console exec leaves for Nvidia

AMD console exec leaves for Nvidia

Tue 24 Jul 2012 11:27pm GMT / 7:27pm EDT / 4:27pm PDT
BusinessPeople

Bob Feldstein has become a vice president at Nvidia

AMD

Over the course of AMD's four decades in business, silicon and software have become the steel and plastic...

amd.com

The man responsible for AMD graphics hardware being used in the Microsoft Xbox 360 and Nintendo Wii has switched sides and joined AMD rival Nvidia. Former AMD corporate vice president of business development Bob Feldstein has taken a position at Nvidia as its new vice president of technology licensing. The executive was instrumental in convincing hardware manufacturers to use AMD chips in their consoles. Feldstein also led AMD's Boston Design Center, tasked with chip design engineering.

Feldstein told the Wall Street Journal that his last day at AMD was July 13 and his time at Nvidia began on July 16. The move comes as another blow to AMD, who has been struggling against CPU manufacturer Intel and GPU manufacturer Nvidia.

AMD spokesman Andrew Fox told the Wall Street Journal that Arun Iyengar has been named as Feldstein's replacement for the console business. AMD senior design fellow Jim Farrell has been tapped to lead the Boston Design Center.

1 Comment

Dominic Jakube Student

92 13 0.1
Funny as I though all the new consoles coming out will be AMD powered.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now