Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Amazon opening London creative hub

Amazon opening London creative hub

Mon 23 Jul 2012 3:05pm GMT / 11:05am EDT / 8:05am PDT
Retail

City "is a hotbed of tech talent," will work on interactive services for console

Amazon

Amazon.com strives to be Earth's most customer-centric company where people can find and discover virtually...

amazon.com

Amazon aims to open a new eight storey creative hub in London in the coming months, which will focus on the "next generation of TV and film services" for various platforms.

"London is a hotbed of tech talent and testament to that fact is Amazon choosing the capital as the location for the new global Digital Media Development Centre," said centre MD Paula Byrne.

"Innovation is part of the Amazon DNA and we are creating a British centre of excellence to design and develop the next generation of TV and film services for a wide range of digital devices."

Part of its duties will to be produce interactive services for consoles and smartphones, and Amazon subsidiaries Pushbutton and Lovefilm will be based at the site.

"I am thrilled to welcome Amazon's fantastic new international digital centre to London," added Mayor of London Boris Johnson.

"For this wildly successful and dynamic company to choose our city to site such an important facility is a splendid feather in our cap. We know we have the talent, the space and infrastructure to make the most of the digital economy - this will be my prime message during Games-time, as I seek to woo even more companies for the capital, delivering jobs and growth for Londoners."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now