Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga devs donate time to charity game

Zynga devs donate time to charity game

Tue 17 Jul 2012 8:18am GMT / 4:18am EDT / 1:18am PDT
Charity

Facebook game aims to raise awareness of female oppression

Zynga developers have given new meaning to the term social gaming by donating their time to charity Facebook title Half The Sky.

Based on a bestselling book, the game is in development at Frima Studio and hopes to raise awareness about female oppression.

"Zynga's role in bringing this game to life is particularly special to us," Half the Sky authors Sheryl WuDunn and Nicholas Kristof told GamesBeat.

"Using a game to potentially reach great numbers of people helps send a message not only that there are challenges women face around the world but also that they bring great spirit and joy to their communities when they can live safe, normal lives."

Due for release in November the game will serve as part of a media campaign alongside a television series.

"Based on familiar Facebook game mechanics that are simple to learn, each player will be immersed in his/her own village. Players will be responsible for making sure their girls and women are safe and offered all the opportunities to thrive and grow," explains the charity's website.

Funding for the title has been provided by the Ford Foundation, the United Nations Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts.

"The mission of Zynga.org is to help make the world a better place through games," added Zynga's Ken Weber.

"Zynga's employees are eager to leverage social games for good, and we are honoured to be collaborating with Games for Change and Frima on this important initiative."

1 Comment

Andy Samson
QA Supervisor

235 179 0.8
Kudos to Frima! /gg

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now