Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

VC investment in Q2 hits decade-long high

By Matthew Handrahan

Mon 16 Jul 2012 7:36am GMT / 3:36am EDT / 12:36am PDT

US venture capitalists put $8.1 billion into more than 800 projects, every stage of investment on the rise for the first time

Venture capitalists in the US invested more money in the second quarter of 2012 than any comparable period in the past decade.

According to data from CB Insights, reported by AllThingsD, US VC groups invested $8.1 billion across a total of 812 deals - a 37 per cent increase over the $5.9 billion invested in the first quarter, and a 5 per cent rise year-on-year.

Rather than reflecting a handful of larger deals, CB Insights reported a rise in every stage of funding for the first time since it started gathering data.

There was particularly notable activity in early stage investments, with seed venture capital accounting for 22 per cent of the total despite the data excluding angel investors.

From Recommendations by Taboola


Nick Parker Consultant

328 211 0.6
It's a shame that European VCs are not so active.

Posted:3 years ago


Bruce Everiss Marketing Consultant

1,692 595 0.4
In America over 300,000 people now work in app development. So the VC money (or some of it) is being put to good use!

Posted:3 years ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now