Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

BBC Worldwide: Digital now 13% of revenue

BBC Worldwide: Digital now 13% of revenue

Mon 16 Jul 2012 11:01am GMT / 7:01am EDT / 4:01am PDT
MediaFinancial

Top Gear's Stunt School Revolution hits 2 million downloads in month one

BBC

The BBC is the largest broadcasting organisation in the world. Its mission is to enrich people's lives...

bbc.co.uk

BBC Worldwide

BBC Worldwide is the commercial arm and a wholly owned subsidiary of the British Broadcasting Corporation...

bbcworldwide.com

BBC Worldwide's annual review for 2011/12 has revealed that its digital revenue has seen an increase of 58 per cent on last year, with games playing an important role.

Digital revenue now stands at 12.8 per cent of the total, and covers iPlayer, apps and games.

BBC Worldwide launched 11 games over the year, with 12 more currently in development. It saw 3.5 million downloads of games, a total it says does not include its recent success with Top Gear's Stunt School Revolution. The iOS game is BBC Worldwide's fastest downloaded game to date with 2 million downloads in its first month.

"BBC Worldwide has proven itself to be a leader in the digital sphere this year," said John Smith, CEO, BBC Worldwide.

"Through embracing advances in technology and striking strategic partnerships with emerging companies, our brands have evolved across a host of platforms. We have also ensured that more audiences get to experience the wealth of content from both from the BBC and UK creative industry, through placing ourselves at the heart of the digital revolution."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now