Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Clint Hocking joins Valve

Clint Hocking joins Valve

Thu 12 Jul 2012 7:02am GMT / 3:02am EDT / 12:02am PDT
Development

Former LucasArts and Ubisoft creative director joins revered developer in unspecified role

Clint Hocking, former creative director at both Ubisoft and LucasArts, has joined Valve Software in an unspecified role.

Yesterday, Hocking tweeted a picture of his son climbing the industrial sculpture in Valve's Seattle headquarters. He tagged the picture, "Arrival. (and Son)."

Hocking recently left his post as creative director at LucasArts after less than two years, and without shipping a game.

Previously, he worked as creative director at Ubisoft Montreal, where he won critical acclaim and commercial success with his work on Far Cry 2 and the Splinter Cell series.

4 Comments

Tim Carter Designer - Writer - Producer

578 322 0.6
He won't be a "creative director" anymore.

He'll be just a name in an alphabetical list in the end credits.

If any of his games win best design the award will go to "Gabe Newell and the Valve Team".

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Tim Carter on 12th July 2012 7:16pm

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Abraham Tatester Producer

71 53 0.7
@Tim: And your point is...?

I'm guessing that Hocking is smart enough to know this...and evidently he doesn't care.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Neil Alphonso Lead Designer, Splash Damage Ltd

48 17 0.4
Nothing wrong with wanting to make games again. Best of luck, Clint.

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Matt Armstrong Design Director, Electronic Arts

9 23 2.6
Because nobody's ever heard of Kim Swift, right?

Posted:2 years ago

#4

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now