Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Windows 8 coming late October

Windows 8 coming late October

Mon 09 Jul 2012 9:34pm GMT / 5:34pm EDT / 2:34pm PDT
HardwareDevelopment

Microsoft's new OS should have its Release-to-Manufacturing build in August

At Microsoft's Worldwide Partner Conference in Canada, Windows chief financial officer Tami Reller confirmed that Windows 8 would see a retail release in late October. The operating system is also "on track" to have its release-to-manufacturing (RTM) build in the first week of August.

This means we'll be seeing Windows 8 hardware, like Microsoft's Surface tablet in October, just prior to the holiday shopping season. Microsoft's partners will be getting an early release of the OS so it can be installed on supported devices.

Reller also confirmed that Microsoft will turn out the commerce platform for the Windows with the launch of the RTM build. Windows 8 is currently on the Release Preview, where all apps on the Windows Store are free.

Reller said that Microsoft has sold 630 million Windows 7 licenses to date, up from 600 million in the first weeks of June.

1 Comment

Barrie Tingle Live Producer, Maxis

381 181 0.5
I have to say, I do want a Surface but I don't want Windows 8 on my desktop machine or laptop unless you can switch the interface to "Classic".

Metro works well with controllers and touch screens but for a mouse and keyboard it is just unnecessary clutter.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now