Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

UK is lagging behind says Natural Motion CEO

UK is lagging behind says Natural Motion CEO

Tue 03 Jul 2012 8:09am GMT / 4:09am EDT / 1:09am PDT
Free-to-PlayDevelopment

Needs to catch up when it comes to free-to-play titles

NaturalMotion

NaturalMotion Ltd is a leading games and technology company based in Oxford, London, San Francisco, and...

naturalmotion.com

Torsten Reil has warned the UK that it needs to step up its game when it comes to the growing free-to-play genre.

"I think the UK is still lagging behind very much," the Natural Motion CEO told Develop.

"I'm seeing on some games that are coming up that I think look great and take a huge step forward in visual fidelity on these devices but they are not games that resonate that well necessarily on a large scale because of either the subject matter or more likely the play pattern."

Natural Motion's titles include Icebreaker Hockey, NFL Rivals and free-to-play titles CSR Racing and My Horse.

1

"I think free-to-play is not properly understood in most of the UK, and I think that is a huge issue, but it is something that will change," he continued.

"It's just a question if whether it happens fast enough for several big companies to emerge. We're going to end up worldwide with probably three-to-four really big players worldwide in this market and we want to be the leader."

Speaking to GamesIndustry International last month, Reil announced that Natural Motion had raised $11 million in funding.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now