Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft picks up "Xbox 8" domains

By Mike Williams

Microsoft picks up "Xbox 8" domains

Tue 03 Jul 2012 7:10pm GMT / 3:10pm EDT / 12:10pm PDT

A win in arbitration nets Microsoft a few Xbox-related domains

Microsoft has won a number of Xbox-related domains in disputes filed with the National Arbitration Forum in May. The domains were previously held by a resident of China and include,,,, and The last two domain names are fueling speculation about the name of Microsoft's next Xbox console, code-named Durango.

It was found that the previous holder of the domains was using them in bad faith, with no legitimate interest or planned use for them. Microsoft also has complaints filed for,,, and Microsoft does not own the domain, which is registered to another Chinese resident.

[Via Fusible]

From Recommendations by Taboola


Pierre Vandenbroucke Assistant de production, Gorgone Productions

47 0 0.0
Doesn't it sound "Xbox hate" to you?
(I know there's no "h" in the beginning... But.)

Posted:3 years ago


Klaus Preisinger Freelance Writing

1,327 1,497 1.1
Xbox infinity, just imagine the 8 tilted sideways, Fujitsu style.

Posted:3 years ago


Thomas Dolby Project Manager / Lead Programmer, Ai Solve

369 352 1.0
I don't really see how you could go from XBox 360 to XBox 8.

The Windows platform (Phone/Tablet/Desktop) can have that version number in a system that makes sense, but not the XBox.

Posted:3 years ago


Greg Wilcox Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,424 1,397 0.6
Unless... Microsoft plans to have a version of Windows 8 running in the new console for some reason. The plot thickens (maybe)...

Posted:3 years ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now