Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Activision awards $175,000 to Iron Dragon

Activision awards $175,000 to Iron Dragon

Mon 25 Jun 2012 2:33pm GMT / 10:33am EDT / 7:33am PDT
PublishingDevelopment

The publisher has announced winners for its Independent Games Competition

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Activision today announced the winners of its own Independent Games Competition, juried by IndieCade and "designed to foster innovation." Grabbing a first place award and $175,000 in cash was Christopher Hui's Iron Dragon, an action flight adventure optimized for touch-screen devices.

The second place award, which comes with a much lower cash prize of $75,000, was given to Michael Stanton's Planet Smashers, a multiplayer action game, which he built on an original engine. Importantly, Activision noted that the winners retain full intellectual property rights to their game projects.

"We were excited with the quality, creativity and diversity we saw in the submissions we received for the Games Competition," said Dan Winters, Activision's Vice President of External Development."While the games themselves varied, the unifying theme for everyone involved in the competition has been passion."

"We want to thank the talented developers who submitted their work and our partners at IndieCade. The energy and enthusiasm of the indie community continues to inspire us and we're thrilled to help make their dreams become reality."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now