Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Kickstarter to release daily funding stats

Kickstarter to release daily funding stats

Fri 22 Jun 2012 8:46am GMT / 4:46am EDT / 1:46am PDT
Development

Game projects have raised $31 million of $262 million total, with 3 bringing in $1 million or more

The crowd-funding platform Kickstarter will now release daily updated statistics for the projects on its site.

Previously, Kickstarter only released statistics sporadically, usually based on significant milestones. However, the site will now publish a wide range of information, updated at least once a day.

The information is broken down into three broad categories: Projects and Dollars, Successfully Funded Projects, and Unsuccessfully Funded Projects, each of which is broken down into 13 categories, like games, film, music, design, publishing, and so on.

At present, a total of $262 million has been pledged to more than 60,000 launched projects. The success rate so far is slightly above 44 per cent, though of the total amount of money pledged, $219 million was given to successful projects.

In the games category, a total of $31 million has been pledged to 2,302 projects. The success rate is 33.8 per cent, below the average, with $26.5 million going to those projects. Gaming has also generated the the biggest success stories, with 3 projects bringing in more than $1 million - 9 out of the 13 total categories don't have a single $1m+ project.

To visit the Kickstarter stats page, click here.

2 Comments

Tim Carter
Designer - Writer - Producer

533 220 0.4
Now if they could only solve the problem that they are US-only...

Posted:A year ago

#1

Franck Sauer
Creative / Tech Art Director

63 9 0.1
+1 Tim

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now