Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

GAME Australia goes into liquidation

GAME Australia goes into liquidation

Thu 21 Jun 2012 8:43am GMT / 4:43am EDT / 1:43am PDT
Retail

Creditors vote on fate of retail chain

PricewaterhouseCoopers has confirmed that the GAME Australia retail chain has been put into liquidation. The decision followed a creditors' meeting held yesterday.

"Fifteen GAME stores continue to operate. These stores have commenced a final clearance sale whilst we continue to progress interest in the remaining parts of the business," said administrator Kate Warwick, who will work with Greg Hall on the liquidation.

The news isn't unexpected. On Tuesday PwC announced it was closing all of the chains 31 stores, with 16 shutting with immediate effect.

1 Comment

Tony Johns

520 12 0.0
sad news....

I will miss GAME as they had some good people working there.

I hope they can find other jobs like in EB Games and JB HiFi in the future as I knew that some of them had experience with gaming in their lives and they seemed really in the know in what games to expect coming soon.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now