Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

PlayStation Store suspended in Korea

PlayStation Store suspended in Korea

Wed 20 Jun 2012 7:56pm GMT / 3:56pm EDT / 12:56pm PDT
RetailOnline

New laws have forced SCE to bring down its online storefront for changes

Sony Computer Entertainment will be shutting down the Korean version of the PlayStation Store in response to the region's new "Game Industry Promotion Act."

The store will come down on June 29. The act states that users under the age of 18 cannot be asked for their real name or age in order to create a PlayStation Network account. The new law is scheduled to take place on July 1, and SCE does not have enough time to change the PlayStation Store to be in compliance.

During the downtime, Korean users will be unable to purchase, download, or register any game content online. SCE did not give a date when full service for the store would resume.

[Original statement from SCE in Korean]

1 Comment

Alfonso Sexto Lead Tester, Ubisoft Germany

822 654 0.8
First they ban the trade of virtual items, now this.

Is Korean government trying to boycott video games related business or what is this?

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now