Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Anarchy Reigns delay surprises developer

Anarchy Reigns delay surprises developer

Tue 19 Jun 2012 9:03pm GMT / 5:03pm EDT / 2:03pm PDT
Development

Platinum Games didn't know about the delay for its own game until everyone else did

Yesterday, Sega announced the delay of the Platinum Games-developed third-person combat title Anarchy Reigns, putting the game in the crowded first quarter 2013 release window. Apparently, the delay was news to Platinum Games as well. Producer Atsushi Inaba explained that the delay had nothing to do with the development side of things.

"First of all, we are done with all international versions of Anarchy Reigns. The delay is not due to further development on the game," he said in a Tweet.

"Today's Q1 2013 release news was the first we'd heard of it. Even if we wanted to, we can't comment as we're (still) in the dark officially," he added.

The game is still scheduled for its Japanese release on July 5, under its other title: Max Anarchy.

1 Comment

David Radd
Senior Editor

359 78 0.2
This one is totally baffling. Unless Sega thinks there's a stronger market for games in the post-holiday period rather than the doldrums of Summer (which might be the case) I'm not sure I see the benefit in not releasing simultaneously around the globe.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now