Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

CBS wins battle for Draw Something TV show - report

CBS wins battle for Draw Something TV show - report

Mon 18 Jun 2012 7:46am GMT / 3:46am EDT / 12:46am PDT
MediaPublishing

New show will pit celebrities against Draw Something users for cash prizes

CBS has won a bidding war to produce a pilot based on Zynga's recently acquired mobile hit, Draw Something.

According to a report in Variety, the pilot is being co-developed by Sony Pictures Television, Ryan Seacrest Productions and Embassy Row. The format will pit celebrities against everyday users in drawing challenges for cash prizes.

Zynga's $180 million acquisition of Draw Something developer OMGPop was widely criticised for being over-priced, and, in the time since the deal, Draw Something has lost millions of monthly and daily active users.

This has coincided with a decline of investor confidence in Zynga: the social giant's stock price has collapsed in recent weeks, prompting the NASDAQ to halt short-selling of its shares.

Like Zynga's recent merchandising deal with Hasbro, the Draw Something TV show is evidence of the company seeking alternate revenue streams in a period where its core business is faltering.

To read Rob Fahey's appraisal of Zynga's decline, follow this link.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now