Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Majesco secures American Idol licence

Majesco secures American Idol licence

Thu 14 Jun 2012 9:26am GMT / 5:26am EDT / 2:26am PDT
Publishing

Zumba Fitness publisher will release games in the U.S.

Zumba Fitness publisher Majesco has secured the rights to create games based on Freemantle's American Idol.

"American Idol created the reality television singing competition format that defined an entire genre and grew into a massive pop culture phenomenon," said Jesse Sutton, CEO of Majesco.

"This exciting entertainment brand has a loyal and active fan base that has generated billions of votes since the series launched. That kind of unprecedented engagement offers a unique opportunity for us to introduce new interactive experiences that develop those social connections."

2 Comments

Rick Lopez
Illustrator, Graphic Designer

1,269 941 0.7
I want to see a new BloodRayne... :(

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Bruce Everiss
Marketing Consultant

1,692 594 0.4
I was at Codemasters when we had this license. The mass media loved it. At E3 we had some of the celebs off the show and it dragged in just about every TV camera in the place.
But the game we put to market was absolutely awful. Hardly a game at all. If metacritic had been around it would have struggled to get into double figures.
I even blogged the disaster: http://www.bruceongames.com/2008/03/19/codemasters-disasters-3-american-idol-pop-idol/

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now