Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Kongregate finds avid players account for 90 percent of game revenue

By Mike Williams

Kongregate finds avid players account for 90 percent of game revenue

Thu 14 Jun 2012 9:52pm GMT / 5:52pm EDT / 2:52pm PDT
OnlineFinanceFree-to-Play

Committed free-to-play gamers are the key to successful monetization

According to a study by GameStop's Kongregate web game portal, committed users account for more than 90 percent of a game's total revenue. Kongregate reviewed more than 150 microtransaction-based titles for the study. COO Emily Greer believes the key to a successful free-to-play game is managing the end-game, the part that matters to long-term players.

"Too many titles introduce monetization elements without the end-game in mind," saiid Greer. "Players often tune out these advances, primarily because they have little long-term value to the user or the player is not yet connected to the game."

Kongregate found that only 30 percent of those who played a title less than ten times bought virtual items, amounting to only 3 percent in average total revenue. Devoted players played the game more than 50 times and accounted for only 2 to 10 percent of the total userbase, but had a 3,000 percent higher average revenue than their neophyte counterparts.

"Your committed players will provide you with the bulk of the game's lifetime value," adds Greer.

[Via Gamasutra]

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now