Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Valve's Source engine to be used in animated film

Valve's Source engine to be used in animated film

Mon 11 Jun 2012 10:06am GMT / 6:06am EDT / 3:06am PDT
Development

New feature film from Shane Acker will use Valve's engine and may be distributed through Steam

Valve is collaborating with the director Shane Acker and the Irish production company Brown Bag Films on his new animated feature film.

According to a report in the Chicago Tribune, the film, Deep, will use technology based on Valve's Source engine for rendering, editing, animation and lighting.

It will also allow Acker - whose previous film was the 2009 feature "9" - and Brown Bag Films to produce a video game based on the film. Valve's Steam platform is also being considered as a possible distribution platform.

Deep is currently in pre-production. It has a proposed budget of €15 million.

3 Comments

Christopher Lee
Web Developer

5 0 0.0
I LOVED the movie "9". And I also loved the quality of the cutscenes from Half-Life 2! Can't wait to see how this all turns out!

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Tim Carter
Designer - Writer - Producer

556 292 0.5
Only in 2012 would the engine that is being used in a film be more important than who is making the film or what the film is about.

Edited 3 times. Last edit by Tim Carter on 12th June 2012 1:12am

Posted:2 years ago

#2
Well... Only in 2012 and on a Games Industry website.

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now