Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nexon acquires 15% stake in NCsoft

Nexon acquires 15% stake in NCsoft

Fri 08 Jun 2012 9:30am GMT / 5:30am EDT / 2:30am PDT
Free-to-PlayFinancial

Companies say it's the start of a long term partnership

NCsoft

NCsoft is a leading developer and publisher of online games.

A gaming powerhouse with a global reach,...

ncsoft.net

Nexon

- Specialized in developing, publishing and servicing online games

- Games in service: 17 unique games...

company.nexon.com/en...

Free-to-play specialist Nexon has acquired a 14.7 per cent interest in Guild Wars 2 publisher NCsoft, becoming the company's largest shareholder.

Nexon purchased 3,218,091 shares from NCsoft CEO Taek Jin Kim for ₩804,522,750,000, around $686.8 million.

"This transaction brings together NCsoft's strong pipeline of compelling IP and Nexon's leading international publishing platform and expertise in the operation of free-to-play online games," said Nexon in a press release.

"This investment forms the basis of a long-term partnership, enabling both companies to leverage their strengths to facilitate attractive commercial opportunities. By creating this strategic relationship, both Nexon and NCsoft strengthen their commitment to deliver unrivalled gaming experiences to users around the world."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now