Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Rioting at Foxconn

Rioting at Foxconn

Thu 07 Jun 2012 8:24am GMT / 4:24am EDT / 1:24am PDT
Hardware

Chengdu plant tackles thousand strong disturbance in male dormitory

Workers at the Chengdu Foxconn plant, which manufactures electronic products for a number of companies including Apple, rioted on Monday.

WantChinaTimes reports that around a thousand residents of the male dormitory threw fireworks and furniture from the top floors of the building until police were called. The riot lasted around two hours, with hundreds of police officers called to the scene.

The uprising started when security guards were sent in to tackle a thief, but were stopped by disgruntled Foxconn employees.

Dozens of rioters were arrested following the disturbance.

Foxconn has faced numerous issues at its plants in the past, with workers threatening suicide over working conditions and facing Fair Labor Association inspections.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now